Tags

, , , ,

Yesterday as I told you, I signed up for Team Philly Run

I have only heard of good things about them.

From the reviews of the group it was a no pressure group that was extremely motivating to others.

Its a great training group that incorporates cross training programs, physical therapy, and massages 🙂

You can get discounts at several locations as well as a local running store!

They send you a training manual with recommended runs to do and specific dates that you meet up to do runs.

They generally do 3 runs per week on Wed., Thurs and Saturday.

Yesterday was supposed to be a 6 mile run for marathoners and 4 miles for 1/2 marathoners.

The marathoners also did 6 x 30 second hill sprints while half marathoners did 4 x 30 second hill sprints.

I met up with the group at a running store.

Maybe 20 people or so were there?

We did some dynamic stretching with one of the leaders who works in PT.

source

The run was pretty easy.  I did not feel like anyone was going very fast as we headed toward the hill.

I spent most of the time chatting with a girl I met about psychology and grad school options as she was asking about what she should do.

The hills were tough. I was usually one of the ones at the front of the pack along with a few others.

They were definately tough.

I did feel like I was pushed by the others there which is good because that is hard to do when you are on your own!

On the way back I ended up being the first one back.

I don’t think I was really running too fast but everyone else said I was a strong runner.

I felt like I could have gone for a longer run at this point and I almost did but decided against it to save some energy.

Overall it was a good experience.

I am going to continue meeting up with them on Saturday’s for long runs because that is when I really need support.

I cannot make the weekday runs usually…

Hopefully on Saturdays I will feel that I will be pushed on the weekend runs.

I am excited to continue to run with a group so I can become a better/stronger runner!

One of the leader’s of the group actually won the Broad Street Run, which is a 10 mile run through Philly!

More to come! I will let you know about the weekend run.

_________________________

Tonight my man and I are gonna go to AC.

I am NOT a gambler but he is so i think it will be fun to kind of get away and do something fun, sleep in a hotel and relax!

____________________________

This am went for a 7 mile run.

It was tough and a little wet.

A lot of flooding is going on in the Philly area

There was a mud slide, public transportation is shut down, and roads are flooded.

Even schools are delayed and shut down!

Its insane!!!

*source

If you are in the Philly area good luck!! Don’t get too wet!

🙂

