Tags

, , , , ,

There was a mini earth quake today!

I did not even realize it!

I was in the middle of a session with a little boy, and he asked who was shaking (he is autistic)

I had no clue and just thought it was something going on near by.

it was not until I got onto facebook that I realize what had happened!

I decided to forgo my tuesday am spin class today as I had an appointment and did not want to be too late.

Instead I did a at home work out to get the day started.

turns out I could have gone to spin because the mom slept through the morning and did not show up.

I even went to the house after words and no one answered!

so frustrating.

After my second/last client, i headed over back to fairmont park for my training run.

It was only a 3 mile run (though I ended up doing 3.5)

Surprisingly this run was a little hard.

Maybe its because it is hard to really warm up for such a short run.

Either way I finished it with an average pace of 7:40 which I am pretty happy with…

Here are some pics from my run…

20110823-074223.jpg

back of the art museum

 

20110823-074245.jpg

20110823-074233.jpg

boat house row ūüôā such a pretty reflection!

 

20110823-074256.jpg

20110823-074322.jpg

20110823-074328.jpg

20110823-074334.jpg

20110823-074353.jpg

soaked in sweat even for this short run..

20110823-074400.jpg

I ended up going to the gym for a bit but did not want to push myself tooo much.

I find it really hard to do short runs/work outs.

I wanted to do more but want to be strong and make it through all of training.

I think that is why I got injured during my last marathon training…

we are doing Hal Higdon’d Advanced 1 training schedule

this is my training for week 1:

 Week

Sun

Mon

Tues

Wed

Thurs

Fri

Sat

1

3 m run

5 m run

3 m run

3 x hill

Rest

5 m pace

10

However since we traveled on sunday and did not run, we did 7 (actually we both did about 8 yesterday)

Here are some tips that he gives for training:

Run Slow: I know this is tough for you. You want to go out on those long runs and BLAST! Don’t!¬†Normally I¬†recommend that runners do their long runs anywhere from 45 to 90 seconds per mile or more slower than their marathon pace. This is very important, particularly for Advanced runners who do speedwork during the week. Listen to what the Coach is about to tell you!¬†The physiological benefits kick in around 90-120 minutes, no matter how fast you run. You’ll burn a few calories and trigger glycogen regenesis, teaching your muscles to conserve fuel. Running too fast defeats this purpose and may unnecessarily tear down your muscles, compromising not only your midweek workouts, but the following week’s long run. Save your fast running for the marathon itself. There are plenty of days during the rest of the week, when you can run fast.

3/1 Training: Toward the end of the run, if you’re still feeling fresh, you may want to pick up the pace and finish somewhat faster. This will convert your long run into what I¬†call a 3/1 Run. That means you run the first three-fourths of your long run (say the first 12 miles of a 16-miler) at an easy pace, then do the final one-fourth (4 miles of a 16-miler) at a somewhat faster pace–though still not race pace. This 3/1 strategy is advised for only the most experienced runners–viewers like you–and I¬†don’t recommend you do it more than once out of every three weekends. In other words:¬†first weekend, easy run; second weekend, 3/1 Run; third weekend, step back to a shorter distance. My philosophy is that it’s better to run too slow during long runs, than too fast. The important point is that you cover the prescribed distance; how fast you cover it doesn’t matter.

Finally:

Consistency is most important. You can skip an occasional workout, or juggle the schedule depending on other commitments, but do not cheat on the long runs.

what tips do you have for training?

how do you like running: fast and short, or long and slow?

what are some pretty parts of where you live?

